It’s Time For Comics to Move Past Vigilantes

We know too much about the nature of crime and the terror of real-life vigilantes to think superheroes need to beat up muggers to change the world

David Dennis, Jr.
6 min readDec 15, 2020
Photo by Serge Kutuzov on Unsplash

I was on my third run-through of the incredible video game Spider-Man, originally released for the PS4 in 2018, when it hit me. If you’ve played the game, then you know that about two-thirds of the way through the story, there’s a prison breakout. As a result, the streets of New York are terrorized by escapees committing crimes and firing bazookas into buildings. I didn’t think much of this plot development the first couple of times I played the game, but, this time was different. It was the Summer of 2020 — the Summer of George Floyd and Breonna Taylor and protest and the mainstreaming of police abolition. I was experiencing Spider-Man anew against the backdrop of a reckoning with how this country interacts with crime, who is actually responsible for crime, and how we treat America’s prison population. It all left me unsettled. I kept thinking: wouldn’t most people who broke out of jail just…go home? See their families? Go to Red Lobster or something?

I understand why these plot devices exist in video games: video games have to manufacture villains to keep them interesting and keep the hero fighting…

--

--

David Dennis, Jr.

Level Sr. Writer covering Race, Culture, Politics, TV, Music. Previously: The Undefeated, The Atlantic, Washington Post. Forthcoming book: The Movement Made Us